Spotlights

Buttonholed Book Reviews

 

companionably invites you to these Tours & Spotlight readings:

✒ ✒ ✒



by

P.D. Cacek (Editor), Laura J. Hickman (Editor), Cortney Skinner (Illustrator)

Publisher: CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform (July 7, 2017)

✒ ✒ ✒

There is no greater horror in the world than watching a loved one battle cancer ... especially if that loved one is a child. But we are not powerless against this disease, and some of the world’s finest purveyors of nightmares have come together to fight a monster far scarier than anything they could ever dream up.

Necon E-Books is honored to present NOW I LAY ME DOWN TO SLEEP, an anthology of horror bedtime stories from which 100% of all proceeds will be donated to The Jimmy Fund.

Edited by P.D. Caceck and Laura J. Hickman and featuring cover artwork by Cortney Skinner, this anthology contains contributions from the incredible roster listed in the Table of Contents, all of whom have donated their work in support of this essential cause.

Available exclusively on Amazon.com in trade paperbacks and digital editions, please join us in this fight by purchasing your copy today. And in the words of our friends and partners at the Dana-Farber Cancer Institute, “Thank you for helping us conquer cancer.”

Table of Contents:
Foreword by Christopher Golden

Mother and Daughter by Jack Ketchum, Messages by Errick A. Nunnally, Sleepless by Mark Steensland, The Vacant Lot by Thomas Tessier, Blood, Cold Like Ice by Doungjai Gam, A Life Unremembered by G. Daniel Gunn, Wired by Elizabeth Massie, Blue Stars by Tony Tremblay, Happy Now Mother? by John Buja, Nina by John M. McIlveen, Housing the Hollygobs by Marianne Halbert, Inertia Creeps by Charles Colyott, Leave Here Alive by Bracken MacLeod, Sleep Well by Angi Shearstone, The Fine Art of Madness by Gary Frank, The Beach by Cara M. Colyott, Angel Tears by Jill Bauman, Darkness on the Edge of Town by James A. Moore, Would You, Could You, In the Dark? by Craig Wolf, Wishing Won’t by Richard Dansky, The Phobia Where You’re Afraid of Words by Paul McMahon, Nightly Rituals by William Carl, White Wings by Mark Morris, The Other Side by Paul McNally, Truth or Dare? by Bev Vincent, Unexpected Attraction by Matthew Costello, The Ritual Remains by Jonathan Lees, The End of All Stories by Trevor Firetog, Duality by Brian Keene, The Lake Children by Izzy Lee, The Circus Under the Bed by T.J. Wooldridge, 1-2-3 Red Light by Gregory L. Norris, The Old Men Know by Charles L. Grant, The Oldest Fear by Shikhar Dixit

Afterword by Matt Bechtel

✒ ✒ ✒ ✒ ✒ ✒ ✒ ✒ ✒


Postcards From Hell

by


Publication: October 31, 2020

✒ ✒ ✒

A bomb blast at a Jacksonville, Florida hotel. The first of many.

A dangerous and elusive serial bomber at large for a year.

Len Drucker, a paranoid and recluse writer, is brought in by the FBI to track him down.

A raw deal for Drucker being forced to leave his Alaskan island paradise.

He has no choice but to confront an old enemy locked away in a maximum-security prison:

The Anarchist Bomber; a man whose criminal past helped Drucker’s rise to fame.

As the pace of bombings escalates and the body count is rising, Drucker and the FBI follow a sinister trail.

With only one clue found at each bombsite…

A postcard of the city the bomber will be striking next.

✒ ✒ ✒ ✒ ✒ ✒ ✒ ✒ ✒

LISTED by [L.J. Kerry]


by


Publication Date: November 1, 2020

✒ ✒ ✒

They should have never met. . . .

When Judas Wells is ordered to send Nadine Ellis to her execution, he goes against orders for the first time in his life. He conceals Nadine in The Rebellion as an act of defiance to his country's ruthless regime. When Judas discovers Nadine has actually been kidnapped from the neighboring country, they both realize this could be a key component to breaking the regime in more ways than one.
As they start plotting ways to get freedom and return Nadine home safely, it quickly turns into a fight for survival as the government starts hunting down The Rebellion. With an uprising looming over the country, Judas and Nadine must survive long enough to see freedom restored-or face their demise.

✒ ✒ ✒ ✒ ✒ ✒ ✒ ✒ ✒

Things That Never Happened


by



Pub. Date: September 22, 2020

✒ ✒ ✒

Eight-time Bram Stoker Award-nominated writer Scott Edelman's stories have been called “utterly uncompromising,” “smooth and inviting, colorful and vivid,” and “horror writing at its best”—and after reading his new collection Things That Never Happened, you'll come away agreeing his fiction is “captivating, alarming, astonishing.”

Stories in this collection include:
• "A Judgment Call for Judgment Day” — Journey back to a World War II battlefield where an angel and demon debate the worth of a soldier’s soul
• “Survival of the Fittest” — Travel to the Galapagos Islands with a haunted man who tries to exorcise his past
• “It’s Only a Story" — Celebrate the 200th anniversary of the publication of Frankenstein in a tale that gives a Stranger Things vibe to that long-ago night when Mary Shelley birthed The Creature
• And many more!

Gathering 13 of Edelman's eeriest tales from a 40-year career, Things That Never Happened truly—as has been said of his writing—“autopsies the mess of the beating human heart.”

✒ ✒ ✒ ✒ ✒ ✒ ✒ ✒ ✒



by



✒ ✒ ✒

Pulitzer Prize winner Stacy Schiff, the author of the #1 bestseller Cleopatra, provides an electrifying, fresh view of the Salem witch trials.

The panic began early in 1692, over an exceptionally raw Massachusetts winter when a minister's niece began to writhe and roar. It spread quickly, confounding the most educated men and prominent politicians in the colony. Neighbors accused neighbors, husbands accused wives, parents, and children one another. It ended less than a year later, but not before nineteen men and women had been hanged and an elderly man crushed to death.

Speaking loudly and emphatically, adolescent girls stood at the center of the crisis. Along with suffrage and Prohibition, the Salem witch trials represent one of the few moments when women played the central role in American history. Drawing masterfully on the archives, Stacy Schiff introduces us to the strains on a Puritan adolescent's life and to the authorities whose delicate agendas were at risk. She illuminates the demands of a rigorous faith, the vulnerability of settlements adrift from the mother country, perched--at a politically tumultuous time--on the edge of what a visitor termed a "remote, rocky, barren, bushy, wild-woody wilderness." With devastating clarity, the textures and tension of colonial life emerge; hidden patterns subtly, startlingly detach themselves from the darkness. Schiff brings early American anxieties to the fore to align them brilliantly with our own. In an era of religious provocations, crowdsourcing, and invisible enemies, this enthralling story makes more sense than ever.

The Witches is Schiff's riveting account of a seminal episode, a primal American mystery unveiled--in crackling detail and lyrical prose--by one of our most acclaimed historians.

✒ ✒ ✒ ✒ ✒ ✒ ✒ ✒ ✒


An Inishowen Mystery (Book 1)

by



✒ ✒ ✒

Perfect for fans of Louise Penny, P. D. James, and Donna Leon

When a skeleton is discovered in the hidden crypt of a deconsecrated church, everyone is convinced the bones must be those of Conor Devitt, a local man who went missing on his wedding day six years previously. But the postmortem reveals otherwise.

Solicitor Benedicta “Ben” O’Keeffe is acting for the owners of the church, and although an unwelcome face from her past makes her reluctant to get involved, when Conor’s brother dies in strange circumstances shortly after coming to see her, she finds herself drawn into the mystery. Whose is the skeleton in the crypt and how did it get there? Is Conor Devitt still alive, and if so, is there a link? What happened on the morning of his wedding to make him disappear?

Negotiating between the official investigation―headed up by the handsome but surly Sergeant Tom Molloy―and obstructive locals with secrets of their own, Ben unravels layers of personal and political history to get to the truth of what happened six years before.

Death at Whitewater Church is the first in a series of Ben O’Keeffe mysteries set on the Inishowen Peninsula in County Donegal, Ireland.

✒ ✒ ✒ ✒ ✒ ✒ ✒ ✒ ✒


The Westford Knight
A Selective Bibliography

by

David Goudsward

Publisher: Independently published 

✒ ✒ ✒

The Westford Knight is a life-size carving of a knight in armor found in Westford, Massachusetts. Some believe it is an effigy of a 14th-century knight and as such, evidence of an early European visit to the New World by Scottish nobleman Henry Sinclair.

This is a curated bibliography of material representing the history of the carving's interpretations from 1874 to present.

✒ ✒ ✒ ✒ ✒ ✒ ✒ ✒ ✒


All The Dead Men

by

Errick Nunnally

Publisher: Twisted Publishing

✒ ✒ ✒

The plot was broken, but something more sinister has taken its place: a vampire church built around the image of a woman who seems strangely familiar to Alexander.

These zealots are hellbent on restoring what they believe the status quo to be, one of vampire over human, and Alexander wants nothing to do with it. Until a child--one he'd rescued decades ago, now an adult--turns up in a pornographic video made by a film crew that has been slaughtered. His adopted daughter, the vampire Ana, seems to be missing.

At wit's end, Alexander has few allies. With Majispin in hiding, the pack decimated, and only a few willing to both hate and help him, Alexander must confront The Church of Our Lady of Perpetual Death and deal with the unexpected threat of Ana's grandsire, an old and powerful vampire who has consumed his own soul.

The monster wants nothing more than to possess the only love Alexander has left in the world.


~ This is book 2 in the Alexander Smith series ~

✒ ✒ ✒ ✒ ✒ ✒ ✒ ✒ ✒



SNAFU: Medivac
A Charity Anthology of Military Horror

by

James A. Moore (Author), Greig Beck (Author), Charles R. Rutledge (Author), Alan Baxter (Author), Jeremy Robinson (Author), Kane Gilmour (Author), Kirsten Cross (Author), Steve Lewis (Author), Amanda J. Spedding (Editor), Geoff Brown (Editor)

Publisher: Cohesion Press (April 1, 2020)

✒ ✒ ✒

A charity anthology for James A. Moore’s medical costs and ongoing costs of living.
James A. Moore is the award-winning author of over twenty novels, thrillers, dark fantasy, and horror alike.

There are 120,000 words, with four original stories and eight best-of-SNAFU reprints.

Some of the most important military missions have been medical evacuations – medivacs.
Soldiers don’t often fight for themselves. They fight for the guy next to them, their brother, their friend, their family.


And they fight hard.


In 2019, Cohesion author and friend… hell, more family, really… Jim Moore was suddenly in the struggle of his life. He overcame the Big C, but his fight is ongoing. A fight to pay for all the treatments in a country that has no free public health system, and a fight to claw his way back from the ravages of the very treatment that saved his life.
His fight is our fight, and if we don’t fight for our friends, is there anything really worth living for?

All income from SNAFU: Medivac goes to Jim to help pay his bills and keep his household functional.
Once this is no longer necessary, the income will transfer to cancer research or treatment charity.


Visit James A. Moore on his site
and check out his works



✒ ✒ ✒



No comments:

Post a Comment